An electric scooter is very efficient when you need to cruise down the streets. However, not everyone is allowed to take a ride in an electric scooter on the public roads.
The laws governing the use of an electric scooter differs from one state to another. You must understand the laws governing the use of scooters in your State before you acquire one.
Most scooter lovers are always asking about the legal age to drive an electric scooter. The laws govern the use of different types of electric scooters available in the market.
This article clearly outlines the legal age to drive an electric scooter in different states.
Types of Electric Scooters
There are different types of electric scooters. The laws differ depending on the type of scooter that you are riding.
Children’s Electric Scooters
Electric scooters designed for children do not exceed 15 miles per hour. These types are best for children under the age of seventeen.
Children’s scooters are designed for recreation purposes. Most states allow the use of these scooters within residential areas, sidewalks, and local parks.
Full-Sized Electric Scooters
Full-sized electric scooters meet all the safety standards of a motorcycle. Most of the full-sized scooters have a top speed of up to 70mph. Electric scooters of this type are allowed to operate in major streets.
Owners are required to register the scooter and get an operational license. Operators are required to have a motorcycle operator’s license or a valid driver’s license.
Neighbourhood Electric Scooter
Neighbourhood scooters are designed to accommodate young adults comfortably. They operate within a range of 15 – 25 mph. Most states allow the usage of the neighborhood electric scooters in residential streets which have a speed limit of 35mph.
To use the scooters on public roads; the driver needs to be licensed.
What Is the Legal Age to Drive an Electric Scooter?
The age restrictions differ from State to State.
Below is a list of the legal age in most states:
The State of California has strict laws governing the operation of an electric scooter. Operators of the electric scooters on public roads and major streets of California are required to have a valid driver’s license or a learner’s permit. Drivers of scooters on public roads should be at least 16 years of age. The rider should wear the appropriate safety gear recommended by the State.
Laws governing the use of electric scooters within the neighborhoods and residential sidewalks are less stringent on the driver’s license and age. The laws governing the use of electric scooters in California slightly differ depending on the jurisdictions. Electric scooters are not permitted on sidewalks. They should be ridden on the roads which do not exceed a 25mph limit.
Scooters are quite popular in the State of Florida, especially during the summer. According to the laws of Florida, a driver should be aged 16 years and above. The driver should have a valid driver’s license or learners permit.
You do not need to carry the scooter’s insurance every time. Laws governing the usage of electric scooters on residential pathways are less strict on age.
Drivers and passengers below 16 are required by law to wear an approved helmet. No drivers are allowed to ride the scooter on the highways. The electric scooters are not permitted on the sidewalks or bicycle paths.
Scooters should be used in the roadway in accordance with the standard traffic laws. You also need a valid insurance cover before you take an e-scooter ride.
The usage of electric scooters within the State of New York is illegal. According to the DMV regulations, electric scooters can not be operated on the streets, highways, or city sidewalks.
If you are the rebellious type, you can take a ride down the street or residential areas irrespective of age. If you are unlucky to get pulled over, you will be lucky to get away with a ticket. On an unlucky day, you may end up behind bars
The State of Texas is quite lenient on the laws governing the usage of electric scooters. You do not need registration, driver’s license, or insurance to operate an electric scooter within most parts of Texas.
However, the legal age to drive an electric scooter in Texas on public roads
The rules governing the usage of scooters within the neighborhood and residential streets are less lenient on age. However, all drivers need to adhere to state traffic laws. Protective gear is essential and compulsory for drivers of electric scooters in Texas.
Electric Scooter Safety
Some accidents can be prevented. Other scooter accidents can be less fatal if the driver adheres to the following safety precautionary measures.
Wear Protective Gear
The helmet may seem a bit heavy on the head. It is however imperative that you have a helmet on. It is your best chance at protecting your head from injury in a fatal road accident.
You should also wear protective and reflective clothing when riding in the dark.
Adhere to the Traffic Laws
Staying safe on the road entails obedience of the traffic laws of the State. Obey the traffic lights and other laws that are put in place by the State to protect drivers of the electric scooters. Check the site of your State’s Department of Transport to stay updated on any changes in the laws.
In conclusion, the legal age to drive an electric scooter varies from one state to another. Highlighted above is a breakdown of the legal guidelines to drive an electric scooter is some of the states.
You should avoid being on the wrong side of the law by staying updated on the legislation governing the usage of electric scooters in residential pathways and on public roads.
The legal age to drive an electric scooter is 16. All drivers irrespective of age or type of electric scooter should maintain safety at all times by wearing the appropriate protective gear at all times.
*The materials available at this web site are for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem.